Resolutions 2014: Pan’s Labyrinth

As part of her Resolutions series I reviewed Pan’s Labyrinth for Cara and her Silver Screen Serenade. Be sure to check out her fantastic blog and this brilliant series!

Silver Screen Serenade

Pans-Labyrinth

Aaaand we’re back! Tell you what, Resolutions 2014 has been absolutely brilliant so far–and I’ve hardly had to lift a finger! All of you guest bloggers–you have been epic. Just do me a favor: take a moment to bask in your own epicness.

View original post 960 more words

Categories: Review

26 replies

  1. As usual, a fantastic review V. Great film too!

    Like

    • Thank you me dear! This one was definitely a treat, can’t believe it took me this long to watch it. Have you any film resolutions yourself?

      Like

      • I have such a long list, it’s embarrassing. I suppose you just don’t get around to watching some. I would love to see ‘Some Like it Hot’, ‘The Breakfast Club’, and ‘Blade Runner’. I just haven’t gotten around to them yet. Then there’s movies I only half watched, like ‘The Graduate’ and ‘Vertigo’ because I’m usually correcting homework that I should go back to. That gives me something to do today!

        Like

        • The Breakfast Club is one of those must-watch ones I guess, even though I thought it was a bit boring. :o
          Blade Runner is another must-watch for me, but I’ve never seen Some Like It Hot!

          Like

          • Yeah, it was one of my fellow teachers that was talking about the breakfast club but I still haven’t gotten around to it.
            Blade runner is on the comparative course at Leaving Cert, I might teach it some day.
            I’ve heard great things about Some Like It Hot so I’m going to try and get around to it. There’s so many films I haven’t seen, it kills me!

            Like

            • Really! Blade Runner as part of the Leaving Cert. That’s actually kind of wonderful. I remember for music in the Leaving we got to study The Beatles, which was cool, but none of the other subjects had really caught up with anything at all remotely “modern” or anything that might feel a little more relevant.

              The Breakfast Club and Some Like It Hot are both on Netflix now! I only know this because I’m home sick and the only thing my brain could handle for days was endless Netflix.

              Like

              • There are some really cool films on the comparative course, like The Godfather. We only ever seemed to do the lame stuff. I remember this traumatising play in Irish called ‘An Triail’, did you ever do it? Seriously messed up.

                Oh really? I may go have a look. Jack and I decided to watch ‘The Conjuring’ last night. Pretty terrifying.

                Like

                • An Triail I think was after my time, thankfully, because it sounds AWFUL. Are they still doing that one? They should try to revamp the Irish course, it’s well overdue.

                  Ooh, The Conjuring was good! Up until the last half an hour or so, anyway. I enjoyed that one. It scared me, but I’m easily scared.

                  Like

                  • I think they still do it but it’s just awful. Yeah, I agree, the whole of Irish needs a big shape up.. “Conversational Irish with Daithi O’ Se” haha, imagine.
                    Yeah I liked The Conjuring. Some really great scares. I just love everything James Wan does though.

                    Like

  2. Excellent review, very nicely written :)

    Like

  3. Great stuff V. Have you seen The Devil’s Backbone? It’s another Del Toro movie set in Spain and it’s amazing

    Like

  4. Such a wonderful, moving film. I love how he taps into childhood fears. Cronis is super creepy too…

    Like

    • Indeed! I was scared watching it as an adult, had I seen it as a child it would have given me nightmares for months. So well done though. I just looked up Cronos, another one to add to the list. Del Toro does seem to like using Perlman, doesn’t he?

      Like

  5. Nice one V! I saw this ages ago and it’s got quite a haunting quality about it. It’s really way too violent for me though, I had to close my eyes a few times.

    Like

    • There were one or two moments when I completely cringed. My eyes squinted involuntarily and I’m sure the faces I pulled while watching a particular scene (the captain murdering the trespasser with a bottle) were a picture. It was hard to watch at times, but worth it in the end I feel. Like yourself though, I’m not sure I’ll be watching it again in too much of a hurry!

      Like

  6. Great review V! I’m Impressed that you could read subtitles at two in the morning. Pretty sure that I couldn’t. :)

    Like

  7. This flick – and that first shot especially – freaked me right out!

    Like

  8. Oh, I commented on the other site so I’ll just leave a blurb here. Great review, V! I love this movie…

    Like

  9. Try to check out Cronos, too. Early del Toro…

    Like

What do YOU think?

